Quick Links for Feb. 25th

Jesus this has been a long week. Especially for a shortened work week. I may be mentally fried from a week’s worth of sleepless nights worrying about the future of my favorite team, but there are still a couple of elusive brain cells I haven’t managed to drown with liquor which means I still have the brain capacity to point out how dumb Stockton Unified School District is. Then I will lower myself to begging, but until then, Quick Links!

SUSD really is that dumb

When we last checked in on the SUSD Board of Trustees, members of the community were discussing recalling Jose Morales. Again. Which would be infinitely fucking retarded because the cost to do so would be over 8 times what they’re pissed at him for spending and that’s the cheapest scenario. It could cost as much as 25 times what he carelessly spent. Apparently math teachers aren’t behind the recall effort because they went and served him with a recall notice this week anyway. By the time this is all resolved, we’ll probably be voting to recall him on the same ballot he’ll be up for reelection.

Meanwhile, there’s a vacancy on the Board and in the biggest shocker of the night, they actually made a good decision and just appointed someone to the position. Naturally, this pissed off Sal Ramirez and Steve Smith, both of whom wanted to take the issue to a public forum that totally wouldn’t have been a complete clusterfuck. SUSD can’t decide on refreshments without devolving into petty infighting, a public forum to fill an actual position on the board probably would have resulted in a round of fisticuffs. Just appointing somebody was akin to ripping a bandage off in one quick motion and it was the right call because SUSD has bigger shit to worry about right now.

Speaking of insufferably long budget battles…

Fire’s back at it with their hair-brained schemes to try and remain the only people immune from the economic downturn. This time their idea is for the City to sell off their land at the New Hogan Reservoir, which is valued at $2.5 million and is currently being leased to cattle ranchers. This is dumb for multiple reasons.

For one, it would forfeit future revenue from the current lease agreement for a one-time payday. It would be incredibly short sighted. Then again, Fire still thinks the City has no reason to think tax revenue will be down again next year despite mountains of evidence to the contrary. Fire is so short sighted I’d be surprised if they could see past their own noses. It’s just a dumb idea floated out there during arbitration because Fire are dicks like that. Keep grasping at straws guys.

Ready…set…beg!

Finally, let’s get to the cathartic moment of the week. If it helps to imagine me on my knees bawling my eyes out with my hands clasped together, feel free to do so.

As you’ve probably heard, the Sacramento Kings are strongly considering moving to Anaheim for the 2011-2012 season. This is different than the other arena-related scares of the past decade in that they’ve actually filed for (and have been granted) an extension of the relocation filing deadline to mull over the decision a bit longer.

It’s no secret that I’m a huge Kings fan. If you’ve seen me during the winter months there’s a 85% chance I was wearing my increasingly worn out Kings hoodie (Hell, I’m wearing it as I write this). There’s a 50% chance that under said hoodie was a Kings t-shirt. I think I’ve slept a grand total of 24 hours since the news dropped last Saturday. I’m a nervous wreck. I know it sounds silly to say about a sports team, but I don’t know what I’d do without the Sacramento Kings.

Fortunately, the Kings have a passionate fanbase that also can’t fathom a Kingsless Sacramento. The team has a dedicated group of independent blogs that almost immediately jumped into action while I was busy drowning my sorrows in buckets of booze. By the time work forced me to relinquish my drunken haze on Tuesday, Here We Stay was already in full swing. Here We Stay is an effort put forth mostly by Blake Ellington’s Bleed Black and Purple with major support from Tom Ziller’s Sactown Royalty and many others with the intent of selling out the team’s next home game against the Clippers this Monday which coincidently also fell one day before the original relocation application deadline. With the team being granted an extension on the deadline that could go well into the offseason the movement has grown to encompass the remaining 12 home games.

The goal is to put as many passionate, vocal Kings fans in the (sigh) Power Balance Pavilion as possible to make sure our voices are heard. They’re coordinating chants, urging people to sport team colors as much as possible and just generally making sure that we will not go quietly. Hell, even if you don’t live in the Sacramento area you can donate money that will go towards tickets for dedicated fans who can’t otherwise afford to attend a game. It’s truly special stuff and I can’t remember the last time I was as excited about attending a game as I am for Monday’s Clippers game. The tremendous outpouring of support people are giving is amazing. People are giving away money in a down economy so complete strangers can go cheer for their team like wild animals for them. The camaraderie alone gives me goosebumps.

I’d like to amend my earlier statement, I know what I’d do without the Kings. I’d stop watching basketball and probably never step foot in Sacramento again. The former out of depression and the latter out of spite. I don’t know what I’d do without the Kings community though. The Sactown Royalty people are amazing. I’ve often said after particularly heartbreaking moments (of which the Kings have had many) that following this team is borderline insanity, going to Sactown Royalty is group therapy. It took me 6 years to finally be able to discuss what happened in the Western Conference Finals in 2002. That’s not a joke. I refused to discuss it with anybody. It wasn’t an emotional scar it was an open, festering wound for 6 years. I came to terms with it by finally opening up about it with people I hadn’t even met at the time after reading similar sentiments.

I’m rambling and my knees are getting tired so I’ll wrap this up by getting straight to the begging. Please support this cause. Buy a ticket and go to the games and voice your support for the team and if you can’t go, donate. Tweet the Maloofs, write letters to the editor of your local newspaper, take incriminating photos of 16 NBA owners so we can blackmail them into voting down the move should the process get that far. Just be vocal. It’s been said numerous times this week that the Maloofs are emotional guys who feel hurt by the uninspired effort to build a new arena that the Sacramento area desperately needs (Arco/PBP is a hole, trust me). Kings fans are some of the most passionate people I know, right now we need to show it. Something special is going on right now, I hope you’ll be a part of it.

~ by Slick Diaz on February 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
